A Brief History of Civic Holiday (August 5th)


  • The Civic Holiday is observed in most Canadian provinces and territories on the first Monday of August.
  • The holiday is called Civic Holiday only in Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut and in parts of Ontario and Nova Scotia. It’s called Heritage Day in Alberta, Natal Day in parts of Nova Scotia.
  •  Quebec, Yukon, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador do not have this mid-summer holiday.
  • The holiday dates back to the 1850s and it is said to originate from Upper Canada (now Ontario)
  • It is not a statutory holiday in Nova Scotia, Ontario, Manitoba and Alberta but is commonly observed by all levels of government, financial institutions and some businesses.
  • In Toronto, the first Monday in August is known as Simcoe Day after John Graves Simcoe, who founded the town of York, Upper Canada, which became Toronto.
  • Schools, post offices, as well as many businesses and organizations are usually closed, while many workers have a day off.
  • The next holiday you should look forward to is Labor Day on September 2nd.



Sources: http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/articles/civic-holiday




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s